So it’s “That Time,” huh?

whale-shark-207401_1280Being a woman is hard enough without the added hassle of being an epileptic, but I’m dang proud that I’m both, and you should be, too. It’s not like we’ve got much of a say in the matter, so we might as well make it as positive as possible! However, I know it can be tough.

On top of regulating medications, avoiding triggers and keeping yourself sane, you’ve also got to make sure you’re prepared for your period, taking precautions against pregnancy and fending off unwanted hormones.

For epileptics, “lady time” should come with a warning. There are the cramps that come with owning a uterus, the blood- yeah. All that. But there’s also paranoia for us- because for a lot of epileptics, period time means that we have to be on our guard because we become more seizure-prone when menstruating.

And most of us can’t take birth control, so who knows when it’s coming?

I have advice for the women like me that will come after this statement to friends and family, but I think this info is quite important as well:

If you’re a loved one, know what time of the month it is for your family member/friend/spouse/partner. I know it’s a little squicky but the knowledge can help you prepare. And girls, don’t hesitate to share. A simple word or two is all it takes.

Now, for all my similarly afflicted women out there:

  1. Don’t skimp on sleep. This is not the time. Make sure you plan accordingly. I know I hate having to work around my disorder but this is when you need to. Being stubborn or playing the martyr does no one any good. Just gets our driver’s licenses taken away.
  2. Make sure you’re keeping up with your meds. I mean, this is a thing in general, but pay special attention. If you’ve been an epileptic for a while, it’s probably all muscle memory by now, so no worries. If you’re new to the party (ha.) then maybe put them in a pill box so you know you’ve taken them.
  3. Keep yourself prepared as far as cleanup goes. This just makes everything less stressful, and stress isn’t…stress isn’t great.
  4. With all the crazy hormonal stuff happening in our bodies during this time, it’s important to recognize which emotions seem unnecessarily important and which ones actually are. Important, I mean. This can help diffuse stressful or uncomfortable situations and I know the “count to ten before reacting” thing has helped me many times.

Well, that’s all I can think of. I know we all deal with this time differently, but that’s what has helped me. And remember- stay healthy, stay safe.

Leave a Reply

