International epileptics, unite!

iceland-1214063_1920I’m planning a trip to Reykjavik, Iceland. I’ll be there in mid-November. I’m very excited but I’m a bit nervous, of course. I’ve flown internationally before so that’s not the issue- it’s that my trigger happens to be sleep deprivation. Jet lag, anyone? It’s gotten me before (Barcelona’s great as long as no one in your party has a seizure [sorry, guys!]) but I’m determined to not let jet lag (and my epilepsy) affect my trip much.

Besides having sleep issues, there are a lot of other things that could go wrong.

Of course, I’ll have to make allowances for my disorder. But I was thinking- it might be good to take note of them and tell you guys!

Here’s my list of possible challenges and how I plan to combat them:

  1. Jet lag and sleep: like I mentioned, I’ll take some melatonin on the plane and some later to make me fall asleep on the first night. I’ll be staying in a hostel for most of my trip so I will purchase some noise canceling headphones (which will also come in handy on the plane).
  2. Eating and health: to keep myself healthy, I’m planning to research the nearest convenience stores, grocery stores and restaurants by the hostel, just in case I’m in need of a blood sugar boost.
  3. Medication: timers are your best friend. You should use them all the time, but they’ll be even more important in a different time zone. To stick to your personal schedule; you’ll feel like you’re taking your pills at odd hours. It might be annoying, but it’s better than the alternative. Oh- and please do NOT, under any circumstances, pack your drugs in your checked suitcase. Carry-ons all the way. You never know when the airline will lose your luggage. Be safe with your medication! Always have it handy.
  4. Alcohol: I’m 23, so I’m going to be drinking on this vacation. I’m planning to schedule a bar crawl tour and latch onto another group. I know I’m going to need to pace myself, which I’m not great at, but I think if I make myself paranoid enough, I’ll be able to stop myself from having that last cocktail.
  5. If something does happen: I’ll have the information of the nearest hospital ready (if I need it) and I’ll be wearing my medical bracelet (and carrying my wallet, which has a medical identification card in it as well). If you’re going overseas for any reason, I recommend a medical bracelet. Hell, I recommend it for anyone, regardless of your trip-taking status.

Well, there you go. That’s what I’m worrying about, but I’m trying to not let it affect me. I might be epileptic but I’m also a woman, and this woman wants to go to Iceland.

Leave a Reply

